DSBA Policy on Diversity & Inclusion

The Delaware State Bar Association (“DSBA”) is committed to diversity in its membership, officers, staff, Executive Committee, Sections and Committees and their respective leaders. The DSBA believes that diversity is an inclusive concept that encompasses gender, gender identity, race, color, ethnic origin, cultural background, national origin, religion, sexual orientation, geographic location, economic status, marital status, age, disability, and many other characteristics.

The DSBA believes (i) that a diversity in backgrounds, perspectives, and experiences strengthens our organization and the entire legal profession and (ii) in promoting increased diversity among members of the Judiciary, legal professionals, and institutions providing legal education.

The DSBA recognizes that achieving diversity in the legal profession requires continued effort and commitment. DSBA leaders, including Executive Committee members, Section chairs, and Committee chairs are expected to promote diversity and inclusion within the DSBA as well as in the legal profession.

Judicial Diversity Clerkship Opportunities

The Delaware State Bar Association invites you to apply for its Judicial Diversity Clerkship Program. In order to apply for this program, sponsored by the Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion Committee, applicants must meet the following criteria: (1) be currently enrolled as a first or second-year student in good standing at an ABA accredited law school J.D. program; (2) be a minority group member (students of color, women, students with disabilities, or LGBTQ+ students) or have overcome a social or economic disadvantage such as a physical disability, financial constraints, or cultural impediments to becoming a law student; and (3) have an interest in bankruptcy law, civil litigation, or business litigation.


To access the Diversity Clerkship Program Application, click the link below:


Applications are to be submitted to clerkship@DSBA.org. All application materials, including letters of recommendation, must be received no later than FEBRUARY 18, 2022. Zoom interviews of selected candidates will be conducted in the spring and applicants will receive notification shortly thereafter.

Please see the application (above) for more details.

The Diversity Clerkship Committee:

Kathy M. Miller

Shaku L. Bhaya

I. Connor Bifferato

Dawn K. Crompton

Shanti M. Katona

Kerri K. Mumford

Marcos A. Ramos

Stanley B. Tarr

Susan W. Waesco

Peter J. Walsh, Jr.

Patricia A. Winston

Natalie Wolf

Erin R. Fay
(Bankruptcy Section Rep.)

Jeremy A. Tigan
(FBA Rep.)

Kathy M. Miller Chair
Beth Fenton Vice Chair
Lakshmi Muthu Secretary
Jennifer Ying Exec. Comm. Liaison
Jason Angelo Member
Wilson Gualpa Member
Kate Harmon Member